Filtering by Category: "music"

Cinchel - Ritual Habitat - Videos

Added on by Cole Pierce.
Cinchel has a new EP released on Feedback Loop and has reedited some of my earlier videos to use as visual scores for two of the tracks. from cinchel on Vimeo.

track2-inherit therin (the mistakes) from cinchel on Vimeo.

Cinchel and I had previously collaborated on Disorientation, a video that was installed at Hinge Gallery this past summer.

Willful - Mick Muttley

Added on by Cole Pierce.
Featuring an exclusive mix for Presto Samo, made by Mick Muttley of SubVersion.

"Wilful" is the culmination of open-mindedness, organisation and overdubbing. The principle was conceived from a gap in tastes. Rock The Dub's Khal once said that he found it difficult to get into ambient music. All the while his love of hip-hop remains steadfast.

"Wilful" is an attempt to merge the two into one cohesive hybrid. The "unmixed" version is the backing track, the final outcome a unique showcase of the talents of Busdriver and Mr. ShaoDow. These are Muttley's two favourite rappers. Therefore "Wilful" is both a call for accumulative appreciation, and an extension of Muttley's current mix archetypes.

Master tempo buttons enable pitch-shifting the ambiences underneath the rhymes and beats. ShaoDow and Busdriver are interviewed to dovetail with a supplmentary feature on SubVersion. Voice recordings are implemented to aid the flow of the audio file. The subjects covered extend the scope of the text copy. Together in wilfulness the objective becomes complete.

01. Boards Of Canada - Into The Rainbow Vein (from the album "The Campfire Headphase" - Warp)
02. Bibio - I'm Rewinding It... (from the album "Fi" - Mush Records)
03. ICR - Before Noon (insert) (from the album "Daytrip" - Covert Operations)
04. Aquadorsa - Daylight Fading Into Evening Silence (from the album "Cloudlands" - Glacial Movements)
05. Alva Noto - Xerrox Soma (from the album "Xerrox Vol.2" - Raster-Noton)
06. Koen Holtkamp - Walker (from the album "Field Rituals" - Type)
07. Klute - No Return (from the album "No-One's Listening Anymore" - Commercial Suicide)
08. Christopher Bissonnette - Jour Et Nuit (from the album "In Between Words" - Kranky)
09. Belong - Beeside (from the album "Colorloss Record" - St.Ives Records)
10. Murcof - Cosmos 1 (from the album "Cosmos" - Leaf)
11. Quosp - Beechwood (from the album "Soundscapes 1" - U-Cover)
12. Lopus - Luoto (from the album "Glow" - Counter Intelligence Digital)
13. Jasper TX & Anduin - Everything Disappears In A Tunnel Of Light (from the album "The Bending Of Light" - SMTG)
14. David Tagg - Picked In Air (from the album "Wind Blown Guitar" - Second Sun Recordings)
15. Rapoon - Thin Light (from the album "Time Frost" - Glacial Movements)
16. Tim Hecker - Blood Rainbow (from the album "Harmony In Ultraviolet" - Kranky)
17. Philip Dickau - Whyte Avenue (from the album "This City, And You" - CD-R)
18. Berliner Philharmoniker & Sir Simon Rattle - Streets Of Paris (from the album "Perfume: Story Of A Murderer" - EMI)
19. Lamenter - Northern Pacific (from the album "Sleeping Me" - Phantom Channel)
20. Machinefabriek - Lief (from the album "Weeler" - Lampse)
21. Deaf Center - Thread (from the album "Pale Ravine" - Type)

Mick regularly collaborates on mixtapes and curates mix exchange projects. Find my contribution to this crosspost on SubVersion.

2008 in Review, Best Music Albums

Added on by Cole Pierce.
I made this list in my sleep last night.

1. Koen Holtkamp - Field Rituals, (Type)
2. Tape - Luminarium, (Hapna)
3. Jacaszek - Treny (Miasmah)
4. Machinefabriek - Dauw (Dekorder)
5. Dead Letters Spell Dead Words - Lost in Reflections (When Skies are Gray)
6. Alva Noto - Unitxt (Rastor-Noton)
7. Paavoharju - Laulu Laakson Kukista (Fonal)
8. Fennesz - Black Sea (Touch)
9. Flying Lotus - Los Angeles (Warp)
10. TV on the Radio - Dear Science (Interscope)
11. Mira Calix - The Elephant in the Room: 3 Commissions (Warp)
12. Bersarin Quartet - Bersarin Quartet (Lidar)
13. Deerhunter - Microcastle (Kranky)
14. Ellen Allien - Sool (Bpitch Control)